Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Fuse rating of my amps

  1. #1
    DX User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    28

    Fuse rating of my amps

    I want to know if I have 1 or 2 amps and the adding of the fuses is a total of 70amps,is going to be problematic to my 65amp alternator.I have a Optima Yellow and that's it.Did anybody made the Big 3 Upgrade to a '86 LX or other year and model, dosen't matters.



  2. #2

    conozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Vehicle
    1988 Honda Accord DX, 235,000 Miles, Daily Driver
    Location
    Fort Wayne, Indiana
    Posts
    1,036

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    Whats the brand and model of your amplifiers?

    You at least have an optima battery. So thats good, im not sure about 70amps running from a 65 amp alternator i havent tried it but i got two jenson amps with a total of 40 amp fuses on it, but since their cheap amps they dont use that much current. I also have a carputer and all seems well for the past few years with my 1.0 farad cap and normal battery.

    If you already have the amps, you can just try to install it and see if your lights dim when the bass hits. If they dim you either got a not so good ground, and/or you are just using too much power.

    1988 Honda Accord LSDX-I

  3. #3
    DX User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    28

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    Boss Riot 435(20amp fuse) and Lanzar Vibe(2 25amp fuses),don't know the series #,it's just says 1400w(of course I do not believe it).Both 2 channels,the Lanzar working at 2 ohms stereo and the Boss is yet to be install,but is going to work at 8ohms stereo.

  4. #4
    LX User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Vehicle
    1987/honda/accord LX
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    186

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    if u were to pull 70amps or more with your amps chances are your fuses will blow. With those amps i'd say u will be fine. Amps rarely pull as much current as their fuse rating. I ran an MTX 6500D with a fuse rating of 75amps off the stock alt and at first i had dimming lights but after i put in an optima yellow top it was all good no problems.

  5. #5
    SEi User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Vehicle
    swifts/sprints boosted
    Location
    Saskatoon
    Posts
    1,551

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    I upgraded all my wiring to 4awg, stock alt, and I pull damn near 1800w at max power (500w for front speakers, 1000w for sub, and about 300 or so with the carputer, the moniter and all that junk. Thats telling me 125A at 14.4V. My alt is still going strong, ,though I dont think itll last at this volume. Its rarely at its peak volume anyways. About 60% up is about the max it gets, and its loud as all hell, sounds amazingly clear though. Bad headlight dimmage though.

    Just some info I guess

  6. #6
    DX User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    28

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    Quote Originally Posted by FyreDaug
    I upgraded all my wiring to 4awg, stock alt, and I pull damn near 1800w at max power (500w for front speakers, 1000w for sub, and about 300 or so with the carputer, the moniter and all that junk. Thats telling me 125A at 14.4V. My alt is still going strong, ,though I dont think itll last at this volume. Its rarely at its peak volume anyways. About 60% up is about the max it gets, and its loud as all hell, sounds amazingly clear though. Bad headlight dimmage though.
    Just some info I guess
    What is the voltage reading of your battery?Will I have more volts if I make de big 3?And a final question,if I have more volts,but my amp is a regulated power supply,does that means that no matter how much volts the amp get,the sound is going to stay the same,in terms of loudnest?

  7. #7
    LX User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Vehicle
    88 LXi sedan, 92 Legend LS sedan, 85 CRX HF (future project)
    Location
    Denver area
    Posts
    133

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    Quote Originally Posted by Cygnus
    What is the voltage reading of your battery?Will I have more volts if I make de big 3?And a final question,if I have more volts,but my amp is a regulated power supply,does that means that no matter how much volts the amp get,the sound is going to stay the same,in terms of loudnest?
    \
    All your amps and your head unit have a voltage regulator built in so they don't change with a fluctuation of input voltage.... Otherwise your old stock stereo would get a lot softer when you drop to idle with your headlights on...

  8. #8
    3Geez Veteran 87AccordsterLx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Vehicle
    1991 Supra Turbo W/ 12k Miles
    Location
    Wyotech @ Laramie, WY
    Posts
    4,812

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    The amount of amperage your alternator produces will not effect the fuses on your amplifier or the battery feed to them. Those fuses are only protecting the amperage and voltage mainly that is being produced by the amplifier. Amperage + Voltage = Wattage.
    Last edited by 87AccordsterLx; 12-14-2005 at 05:29 PM.
    ~Nathan~

    "There's always something waiting at the end of the road. If you are not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place."
    ~StOcK PiCs~

  9. #9
    SEi User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Vehicle
    swifts/sprints boosted
    Location
    Saskatoon
    Posts
    1,551

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    No you wont get "more voltage" by upgrading the big 3, but essentially you will "lose less". It just means your car is capable of handling more power. My battery with the car on is 14.6V, off it drops down to about 12.3. Thats without my computer on or any stereo equipment at all. When I turn everything on, running I go down to 14.0 and off is 12.0 ish. Dont know what is was before I upgraded, but as soon as I installed my carputer I did the wires at the same time

  10. #10
    DX User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7

    Re: Fuse rating of my amps

    Quote Originally Posted by FyreDaug
    I upgraded all my wiring to 4awg, stock alt, and I pull damn near 1800w at max power (500w for front speakers, 1000w for sub, and about 300 or so with the carputer, the moniter and all that junk. Thats telling me 125A at 14.4V. My alt is still going strong, ,though I dont think itll last at this volume. Its rarely at its peak volume anyways. About 60% up is about the max it gets, and its loud as all hell, sounds amazingly clear though. Bad headlight dimmage though.
    Just some info I guess
    Totalling the wattage of your speakers is not a great way to figure out how much power you will draw from your electrical system. Plainly down to the fact that no amplifier is 100% efficient. So your amp may draw 500w to produce 350w (just an example).

    As for working out your main fuse rating, adding up all the fuses on your amp(s) is a good idea, however an amp with two 25amp fuses will hardly ever draw 50amps of current. So your 65amp alternator should be fine, if your system ever draws more than that the battery will begin to handle the excess current.

Similar Threads

  1. The best way to tell if an amplifier's rating is b.s.
    By POS carb in forum Interior & Exterior Care
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 07:44 PM
  2. Where is the radio fuse on the fuse rack??
    By Stoff81 in forum Interior & Exterior Care
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-09-2010, 01:59 PM
  3. stock hp rating for an a20a3?
    By 88'er in forum 3geez Accords
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-25-2005, 02:51 PM
  4. What amps to get???
    By StUpiD8000 in forum Interior & Exterior Care
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-29-2003, 03:29 PM
  5. What is the EPA gas mileage rating for my car?
    By Einstein in forum Classic Honda Community Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-10-2002, 02:17 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.
     
VigLink badge