Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 89 LX - Hesitation and Boggy Under Load

DX User

89 LX - Hesitation and Boggy Under Load

Hi,

I'm a newbie here and I'm REALLY glad to have finally found a forum that caters to 3rd gen accords - there's not much else out there.

My girlfriend's brother gave her his 89 LX - manual shift/carb w/ 321,000 km's and it is in beautiful condition, extremely clean.

I have changed and/or completed the following parts/work since she got the car:
    1. cap and rotor
    2. plugs and wires
    3. rear shocks (nothing to do with my problem
    4. carb clean
    5. check of vacuum hoses
    6. EGR check for vacuum leak
    7. Coil checked as per Haynes
    8. Thermostat

The engine's idle is excellent. When the engine is cold (going down the road) I don't seem to have a hesitation but when it warms up after a few minutes it seems to get boggy and hesitate. If I really put my foot into the gas pedal it seems to go away somewhat. This problem has been present since we got the car.

I did a search on the forum but could really use some advise here. I also read the sticky about NGK plugs and gapping to .035. I'm going to give that a shot this morning.

Any information and/or help would greatly be appreciated. This is such a fantastic car and I want to ensure it's around for awhile!

Many thanks,
    Rob
    Last edited by rrhodes; 04-11-2008 at 07:46 AM.

Vehicle
    1989 Accord LX-I 185,000+ and still strong!

Re: 89 LX - Hesitation and Boggy Under Load

are you running with your ac cuz if so thats part of it...
    -=18 And Still Running Strong=-
    -=BTW Anyone want to buy any Enkei 17's w/2 new tires?=-

DX User

Quote Originally Posted by -=89 LX-I=-*A20A3* View Post
    Hi,

A/C is not turned on and the hesitation is more pronounced and more often than the pull when the A/C compressor is on.