Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: engine swap?

engine swap?

Hi, I'm new to these old hondas.

I know the 1G and 2G Accord engines are the same as the ones used on the 1G Prelude.

I read somewhere that I can fit a 1986-1989 Accord A20A3 fuel injection engine into a 1G Prelude. Is this true? Is it an easy swap?

How about the B20A 2.0 16v engine from a 88 Prelude?
    I read that these engines are not really "B" engines, there different from the other B series engine.

Re: engine swap?

I mentioned the B20A because I can probably get one from a totaled prelude.
    I don't know the exact engine number/type at this time, except that its a 2.0I 4WS 16v from 1988.

Also, I must add, I'm in Europe and the 1G Preludes and 1/2G Accords are all 1.6 EL engines.
    Last edited by outriding; 01-23-2010 at 07:55 PM.

Vehicle
    87/honda lxi accord, 04 xterra, 87 f-150, 93 f-350, 75 camaro, 01 gsx-r

no you can't just drop it a b20 from the 88 lude but the accord 87-89 will

Vehicle
    1981 Accord Hatchback, 1984 Accord Sedan

Well first of all, there are two B20A motors... First one came in the 3g Accord and 2g Prelude. Those are going to be the most powerful motors that have a similar mount layout to your car (except for the torque mounts, which are bizarre on the Prelude). 160hp. They're hard to get, and a few critical parts (head gasket, oilpan gasket) aren't available in the US.

The other (read lame) B20A is the one in the 3g Prelude. It's sort of backwards from the regular B20A. It tilts the wrong way, and might be difficult to fit all the manifolds and everything in your engine bay and still keep the orientation. 140hp.