Thread: Choosing the right grease for your application

Vehicle
    1989 Accord LX-i

Choosing the right grease for your application

I'm trying to figure out how to choose the right grease for various jobs. I'm no grease expert and won't pretend to be. Here's what I think I know and please correct what's wrong and add what I've missed.

There are a number of different types of grease mentioned in the Honda manual. Unfortunately, they always seem to be proprietary in nature or seemingly non-existent at Kragen or Pep Boys.

Below are the types of grease Honda has recommended and the relevant US translation:

Silicone grease = dielectric grease. Widely available in little tubes that fit nicely in the tool box. This is used for any kind of electrical application where the grease can't interfere with flow of electrons through the circuit. I use it in every electrical connector to keep age and resistance at bay. Silicone grease is also good for keeping rubber boots from sticking to spark plugs or dizzie caps.

Moly grease = assembly lube. Also widely available at parts stores. This is for heavy friction, sliding and shear applications like clutch splines and CV joints. CV grease is moly grease, but it's a sticky gloppy mess.

Brake caliper grease = high temp grease. At least this is my best guess.

Lithium grease = multi-purpose/ everything else grease. Use for door hinges, trunk latches, etc. etc. etc.

That's my best guess, so tell me how much nonsense I'm really talking.
    Dr_Snooz

"I like to take hammers, and just break stuff, just break stuff." - Beavis

1989 Honda Accord LX-i Coupe, 240k miles, MT swap, rear disc swap

Shop manual downloads available here: CLICK TO VIEW

Vehicle
    86 hatchback, 1990 Lincoln Towncar

Re: Choosing the right grease for your application

Quote Originally Posted by Dr_Snooz View Post