Thread: High idle,brakes, power steering

Vehicle
    1989 Accord Dx

High idle,brakes, power steering

alright so my girlfriend bought an accord 89 dx carb obviously im new to this whole honda small mtor thing (no offense just use to chevy,dodge stuff)

anways shes got a couple issues and she doesnt get it on the road for about a month or to so i want to cover this stuff now

1. so she has this high idle when she first starts it and ive used the search and from what you guys say thats normal so ill take your word for it for now

2. for some reason when shes just doing small turns like backing up or foward her steering goes in and out which i believe is just the pump which aint to bad but i just want some opinions just incase

3. when she was driving the car home she said that when she was driving that when the car would try to come out of first gear its an auto by the way
    when she was coming out of first gear into second she said she has to let off the gas and then it goes in but it kinda nudges the car foward once agian opinions

4. and when she hits the brakes when idleing her cars seems to almost bogg out and stall but from what ive searched its the check valce on the brake booster hose

besides that does anyone make an intake maybe a decent exhaust?
    its her daily driver but if im gonna be fixing it im gonna have some fun with it

and wats everyone doing for apperance stuff ??

thanks
    Girlfriends DD: 1989 Accord dx Carb 109,xxx

Mine: 1996 Grand Cherokee Limited v8 with some goodies

Vehicle
    86 LX JDM B20A

Re: High idle,brakes, power steering

I would try a good WD40 of all carb linkages and check for any sucked together vacuum hoses or leaking vaccum. That would produce all of those symtoms. If the car is stuck on fast idle (choke cycle) then it will also hold the transmission throttle valve cable up which would produce different shift points.