Thread: Replacing a20a3

DX User

Replacing a20a3

I got an 89 accord lxi with a bad motor(two fucked up rods which warped the block) and it's just been sitting for several months. I planned on working on it during the summer but a really good offer just came up for another motor on this forum(the one for sale in VA). I want to buy this and put it in mine, and I was wondering if there's anything I should know about swapping and the estimated cost of yanking my engine out and putting the other one in is? Also any small things I could do the the engine while it's out that would benefit in the long run as far as reliability goes and maybe a little horsepower? I don't want a rocket, I have a sports car for that, just a DD for college next year.

I've never done anything like this before to a car so I honestly have zero knowledge on this whole this, and I probably look a little dumb lol but any help I could get would mean alot, thanks.

Vehicle
    1990 Mazda Miata

Re: Replacing a20a3

if ya got no knowledge of mechanics, id get a local mechanic to do it for about 500-1000 just in labor +parts. if ya got mechanic skills, just do it yourself and you can usually find junkyard motors for around 200-300$.
    and if you are looking for some more mpg, power, etc. it depends where you live (smog laws), but id start with a header or intake. i dont know too much about efi guys cuz ive always had carbd, but you could always change the clutch while the engine is out, there is nothing wrong with going to a stg1 for a better grip, and something you wouldnt have to worry about changing for a long time. also you could have the timing belt changed, depending on the miles of the new motor. if its got higher mileage, id suggest putting a new water pump if it looks old. do those things and ya shouldnt have to worry about it breaking down on ya, for the most part.
    Last edited by itzdave; 02-11-2011 at 02:47 AM.

Vehicle