Thread: Photos of Arislan's 1981 Accord

DX User

Photos of Arislan's 1981 Accord

Hi everyone, I'm new here and I'd like to introduce myself through these pics. These were taken today, the 1981 Accord was washed yesterday. Photos of problems areas will follow. I need advice on making this car look better. Is actual colour matching possible? I live in Los Angeles, CA.

The loose cables in the cabin are because someone stole our stereo.

DX User

Re: Photos of Arislan's 1981 Accord

DX User

These are the problem areas. What should I do? I'm really new to this hobby and appreciate advice. Thank you.

Vehicle
    79 Accord 1.8L CVCC 5-Speed

All of that off color is respray. The fender has weird dots because gravel or sand pitted the respray exposing the much harder original paint below. The solution to this will be sanding it down and repainting the car.

Your interior looks really good and you have a passenger mirror, awesome! Did you just buy it?

DX User

Quote Originally Posted by PDXAccord79 View Post
    All of that off color is respray. The fender has weird dots because gravel or sand pitted the respray exposing the much harder original paint below. The solution to this will be sanding it down and repainting the car.

Your interior looks really good and you have a passenger mirror, awesome! Did you just buy it?
    Thank you! We've owned it for a couple years but only now we repaired it to pass smog. It sat for two years in our garage. We're the second owners.

Here's a video walkaround I made this afternoon. http://youtu.be/Sfr03QxpnR0

We live in LA and haven't looked for a body shop just yet but we're open to suggestions.

Vehicle
    79 Accord 1.8L CVCC 5-Speed

If you have a driveway and are willing to buy a orbital sander you can sand it yourself then take it down and get a inexpensive paint job. A huge amount of paint cost ends up being prep. Bring it in there ready to paint and cheap jobs can turn out nice.

DX User