Thread: Car wont idle; battery light on...plz help!!

Vehicle
    87' CA5

Car wont idle; battery light on...plz help!!

Hey guys, I have an 87 Honda accord lx 5spd and 2 weeks ago my battery light would pop on for a bit then go away. Today the SOB turn off on me twice when the battery light turned on. I was able to start it back up but when i did, it was running VERY rough and wouldnt hold idle without my foot half way on the pedal, still idling badly doing that. Now when the battery light is off it idles and runs fine... But the moment it blinks on the car sputters and dies and when I start it back up it smells like its not running right AT ALL. Now I'm not a newbie when it comes to the CA and i Had bad batteries and alternators in the past,but I have never encounterd this. my battery and alternator a less than 5 months old.... My alternator was just rebuild.I think it's an electrical issue so I'll run down my current setup. I also have 2 12" alpine type r a nice size hifonics amp and a 4 farad capacitor along with a 700 CCA battery, way more than OEM. I have also don't 0 guage wire from the battery to the amp, 0 gauge grounds and the BIG three in the engine as well. When I was holding the car at idle today with the bat light on... My capacitor said it was only getting like 12.3 volts... Which means that it's losing voltage when all this is happening. Could it be mt dizzy causing the issue( its like over 5 years old) or is my alternator a POS?? I hope it's not a carb issue... Just had that bitch rebuild like 4 months ago!

Any info would help me soooo much.. This is a head scratcher... for me any way! Thanks guys!

Vehicle
    1989 Accord LX-i

Re: Car wont idle; battery light on...plz help!!

Quote Originally Posted by CA5_KMT_LX View Post
    it smells like its not running right AT ALL.
    Can you describe this a little more? Does it smell rich?
    Dr_Snooz

"I like to take hammers, and just break stuff, just break stuff." - Beavis