Thread: voltage?

DX User

voltage?

i recently installed an apexi voltage stabilizer in my car, and i realise the engine is much hotter now, and all of a sudden my lights stopped working. help please?

Vehicle
    1986 accord LXI

Re: voltage?

Voltage stabilizer? Yank that shit out!

DX User

Oh, shit, why? Whats bad about it? Sorry im new to cars . I read abt it online

Vehicle
    86 hatchback, 1990 Lincoln Towncar

the only things they were good for were on race cars they kept the fuel pump voltage and ignition voltage steady, the only good ones were jacob and of course they are long gone now

DX User

i see, but seeing that ive already installed it now, is it ok to leave it on? i got it checked by my local mechanic just to be sure if i installed it correctly, i did and its not 'sucking electricity'. a term he used to describe a messed up VS

Vehicle

Quote Originally Posted by terry View Post
    i see, but seeing that ive already installed it now, is it ok to leave it on? i got it checked by my local mechanic just to be sure if i installed it correctly, i did and its not 'sucking electricity'. a term he used to describe a messed up VS
    you are just causing problems, it's not needed in this car

Vehicle
    1999 Penalty Box

You wouldn't get a pacemaker implanted if your heart is healthy. In general, they try to fix the problem, not add on another system to fail. Same thing goes with cars. If it wasn't there when it was made, it's likely not needed. Get rid of the voltage regulator. At best, it does nothing, but at worst, it's causing your problems.

DX User

alright, i was just worried about all thew wiring around, its an import model from japan,everything is digital in the car aswell, which is becoming a pain at times, my display doesnt work, but im sorting it out one at a time, or atleast trying to :P.

Vehicle
    1999 Penalty Box