Thread: 85 ACCORD engine swap

DX User
    Vehicle
    1985/Honda/Accord LX 1.8L

85 ACCORD engine swap

I'm wanting to put a newer, faster engine in my '85 accord and I'm new to the whole car modding deal so I had a few questions.

1) How can I tell if an engine will even fit under the hood?
    2) Should I go with carbureted or fuel injected? diesel or gas?
    3) Is there a list somewhere of engines that will fit?

Like I said, I'm new to this stuff. I do understand engines enough to work on them and I have actually rebuilt a couple small gas engines. I want to be able to get some good acceleration out of the car but, at the same time I want to be able to get good gas mileage on the highway.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Vehicle
    1986 accord LXI

Re: 85 ACCORD engine swap

Swap a A20A3 into it. its fuel injected and its a pretty easy swap.

Vehicle
    1981 Accord Hatchback, 1984 Accord Sedan

Yep, A20A3 will bolt in, and B20A as well. You might even be able to get the B-series mounts to work for the 3g Accord. I'm currently putting an 86 Prelude engine into mine. Well it's in, but I just have to get it all hooked up.

DX User
    Vehicle

Ok, when I first posted this apparently half of it didn't save. So just some more info on my car and what I'm doing with it. The dash board has been fried cause between my two older brothers the car has been jumped backwards twice(black to red, red to black). Also the clutch has just recently gone out and needs replaced. since I was going to be pulling everything else out anyways I was thinking about replacing EVERYTHING under the hood and dash. So basically the only thing I really want of the original car is the body, frame, and power steering. so as far as the new engine goes it ,plus a transmission that fits it, just needs to fid under the hood.

Thanks for the input so far, I hope to get this project going soon!

Vehicle
    1981 Accord Hatchback, 1984 Accord Sedan