Thread: DIY Tuneup, now won't start

DX User

DIY Tuneup, now won't start

Hey all,

I have a 1989 Prelude SI. I've owned the car for a little over 4 years/50k miles and it has NEVER let me down by failing to start or having any kind of serious problems, until yesterday by my own fault. Firstly, I am a bit of an amateur, still learning stuff so cut me some slack. So yesterday I went to work doing a basic tuneup on my prelude: new spark plugs, wires, rotor, cap, PCV, clean/lube the K&N, and clean the throttle body.

First, I manually turned the crank via the bolt next to the driver side wheel until the dizzy rotor's screw was in a position I could remove it with. The screw was stripped and I went about drilling and impact screwing it out. I replaced the rotor, found out the replacement cap wasn't OEM/didn't fit and put old one back on, put on new wires, gapped and inserted new plugs. In the meantime I sprayed some Throttle Body/Carb cleaner around the inside of the TB, removed the K&N filter and proceeded to clean/rinse/lube it before reinstalling.

Now my engine won't start. There is definitely spark, as I took out all 4 plugs and saw the sparks fly, and going in correct firing order (4-2-1-3 for B20A5 looking from the front of the car). Removing the plugs, you can smell a rich gasoline odor and you can see there is fuel accumulating on the plug. It sounds like it cranks just the way it used to, maybe even stronger, but it just doesn't want to fire.

I'm sitting here really confused as to what could have changed to make things not work. Maybe I got the timing all screwed up when I turned the crank? Or somehow the TB cleaner or air filter lube got in the engine and did something bad? My prelude would always fire right up before, so I am doubtful it is something like say the ECU going dead on me. The LED self diagnostic isn't blinking anything, either. Any suggestions anyone? Help would be appreciated =)

Vehicle
    '87 LXi Hatch, '16 EX-L V6 Coupe